Discusses jobs at Chattanooga manufacturing plant  

CHATTANOOGA, TN – U.S. Senator Lamar Alexander said today he was “proud to receive” the U.S. Chamber of Commerce’s endorsement of his campaign for re-election to the U.S. Senate, which was announced at an event with local business owners following a tour of a Chattanooga manufacturing plant.
“I’m proud to receive the U.S. Chamber’s endorsement, because we share a common goal: jumpstarting our slow economy by liberating the free enterprise system,” Alexander said. “We need to get Washington out of the way by removing the big, wet blanket of burdensome regulations that has made it harder and more expensive for businesses and entrepreneurs to create good jobs for Tennesseans.”
Moore Hallmark with the U.S. Chamber of Commerce announced the U.S. Chamber’s endorsement of Alexander following a tour of Lock Joint Tube and Steel Warehouse, a Chattanooga manufacturer specializing in processing steel plates and tubular steel products. The tour and discussion with local business owners also included Ron Haar of the Chattanooga Area Chamber of Commerce, leaders from the Tennessee Chamber of Commerce & Industry and Dave Lerman, CEO of Lerman Enterprises, which owns Lock Joint Tube & Steel Warehouse.
"The U.S. Chamber is pleased to endorse Senator Lamar Alexander for his work to advance legislation that encourages economic growth and job creation," said Thomas J. Donohue, president and CEO of the U.S. Chamber. "In today's economy, we need leadership, and Senator Alexander will continue to help create jobs and get our country back on track.”
The Alexander campaign is chaired by Congressman Jimmy Duncan, with co-chairmen Governor Bill Haslam, U.S. Senator Bob Corker, Lt. Gov. Ron Ramsey and House Speaker Beth Harwell, as well as Congressmen Blackburn, Roe, Black, Fincher and Fleischmann.  The campaign’s Honorary Co-Chairmen include former U.S. Senators Howard Baker, Bill Brock, Bill Frist and Fred Thompson, as well as former Governors Winfield Dunn and Don Sundquist. Serving as Honorary Co-Chairs of the Statewide Committee to Elect Lamar Alexander are all 13 living former state Republican Party chairs.